Newcastle United Have Announced Their 25-Man Squad For The 2019/20 Season

Steve Bruce has announced who he has named in his 25-man squad for the upcoming season along with the squad numbers. It looks like some players like Sean Longstaff and Miguel Almiron have kept their numbers from last season which is a bit of a surprise.

This is the list of our squad along with their number.

1 Martin Dubravka

2 Ciaran Clark (homegrown)

3 Paul Dummett (homegrown)

4 Ki Sung-yueng

5 Fabian Schär

6 Jamaal Lascelles (homegrown)

7 Andy Carroll (homegrown)

8 Jonjo Shelvey (homegrown)

9 Joelinton

10 Allan Saint-Maximin

11 Matt Ritchie (homegrown)

12 Dwight Gayle (homegrown)

13 Yoshinori Muto

14 Isaac Hayden (homegrown)

15 Jetro Willems

17 Emil Krafth

18 Federico Fernandez

19 Javier Manquillo

20 Florian Lejeune

21 Rob Elliot (homegrown)

22 DeAndre Yedlin

24 Miguel Almiron

26 Karl Darlow (homegrown)

30 Christian Atsu

36 Sean Longstaff (homegrown)

43 Matty Longstaff (homegrown) – does not count towards squad

So that means that the following players have been left out of the squad for this season; Jack Colback, Achraf Lazaar, Rolando Aarons, Henri Saivet and Jamie Sterry.

It is a shame that there was not any room for Rolando Aarons though looking at the squad we can’t see who he could have replaced. Local lads Jack Colback and Jamie Sterry will also miss out.

This is what Steve Bruce had to say about naming the squad.

“All of the players have worked extremely hard since I arrived at the club and they deserve enormous credit for that.

“Unfortunately, the rules dictate that I’ve got to let five of them down, who can’t get a squad number. It’s one of the hard parts of the job but it’s a decision I have to make.

“The season starts for us in just a couple of days and we’ll be doing everything we can to ensure the squad is prepared and ready to go.”

This article was originally posted here